PhotoLancaster

The Sofa on the Street

Black and white of sofa dumped outside terraced house

The Sofa on the Street

A poem looking back, and looking forward to those long summer days to come.

When the days get long and darkness never comes

and the sun hangs high and still

when the clouds are strangers and the air dare not move

and the pavements crack hot in the haze

then I’ll sit with you in a sofa made for two

in the street and we’ll both have a beer

I’ll get out my guitar and let’s pretend to sing

and make the most of these long dreamy days

when I cannot sleep for shadows crawling on my walls

and the birds they sing night and day

when whatever I wear is too much for the sweat

and the dogs lie still in the shade

then I’ll sit with you in a sofa made for two

in the street and we’ll both have a beer

I’ll get out my guitar and let’s pretend to sing

and make the most of these long dreamy days

This entry was published on February 21, 2012 at 1:00 am. It’s filed under Black and White, Photography, Poetry, Preston and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “The Sofa on the Street

  1. Nandini on said:

    Nicely taken! I liked that. 🙂

  2. This reminds me of the years I lived in a terraced street in Middlesbrough. Come the summer, half the furniture would move outside onto the street, with people drinking tea and smoking as they shouted their conversations to each other across the street..

Let me know what you're thinking.........

