PhotoLancaster

In Praise of Cobbles

Black and White of Cobbled Street

Cobbles

I’ve stared at these cobbles so long I don’t know

I’ve walked missing cracks, and I’ve walked slow not caring

the straight lines I see interest me not at all

when it rains they go black and shine like a dog

on a hot summer day they warm up my soul

slipping and sliding in winter they scare me

wet autumn leaves skim across them like clouds

cars rattle and rumble like cheap Sunday day trips

but they’re mine and I love them

they’ll outlive us all

This entry was published on February 8, 2012 at 12:00 am. It’s filed under Photography, Poetry, Preston and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “In Praise of Cobbles

  1. Great tones. Love the cobbles on the diagonal. The imagery of the poem is so vivid and rich. The line about the wet autumn leaves is especially striking. Wonderful post.

  2. Great shot. I have long liked the look and feel of these stones.

  3. makes me think of a brownie for some reason

Let me know what you're thinking.........

