PhotoLancaster

Waiting for My Train

abstract blurred shot of man waiting for train

I'm going to keep waiting

I’d been waiting for my train.  No reason why I shouldn’t.  It hadn’t arrived, but I wasn’t worried.  Nothing ever arrives until it gets here.  Just because it hasn’t happened yet, why would that make me doubt that it will?

“You’d be better off catching a bus mate”

Why should it bother him, it’s my time, I’m waiting for my Train.  So, it’s late.  So?  Why should I care or get upset about it?  Do trains go faster if their prospective passengers get upset?  Do they not turn up at all if their future cargo decides to take a bus instead?   I don’t think so, that would be really weird.

No thanks, I’ll wait for my Train.

It is my Train.  It’s not the same one every day, but there are only so many carriages, and I’ve got to know them all over the years.  The scratches, the missing notices, the carpet stains, they’ve become my friends.  I like my Train, I like the people on my Train.  It may not be the same people each time, but they will be the same kind of people, my kind of people.  They don’t mind me, they don’t want to talk to me, I don’t want to talk to them.  We get along fine.

No thanks, I’ll wait for my Train.

This entry was published on February 2, 2012 at 7:00 am. It’s filed under Photography, Preston and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Waiting for My Train

  1. planaquarium on said:

    Excellent piece. I am likewise averse to change. 😉

  2. There wasn’t a “like it a lot” button, so this comment will have to do. 🙂

  3. Great ! (I rarely read poetry, and definitely not on the ‘net, but yours are always enjoyable, thx)

Let me know what you're thinking.........

