PhotoLancaster

Rick Santorum on gifts from god

I’m taking some risks here – politics and religion in one post, oh well, here goes…

American politicians, oh dear, you guys do have some characters over there.  Rick Santorum fortunately looks like he has as much chance of becoming the Republican candidate as I do.

This guy thinks that abortion is completely wrong, even if the woman concerned had been raped.   Now that’s a point of view, not one I agree with, but it’s a point of view and he’s got every right to express his views.

 “I believe and I think the right approach is to accept this horribly created — in the sense of rape — but nevertheless a gift in a very broken way, the gift of human life, and accept what God has given to you”

What I really don’t get, is the “gift from God” bit.  Is everything that happens to us a “gift from God”?

rick santorum thinks

a baby born from rape

is a gift from god

so god is a being who

uses rapists to hand out presents

and there was me thinking

that was Santa Claus

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/01/23/rick-santorum-abortion-rape_n_1224624.html  (the Sharron Angle quote about lemonade at the end of this piece is priceless!)

but it seems there is an exception to this abortion is never OK, and it’s all a gift from God baloney….

http://www.dailykos.com/story/2011/06/16/985393/-Rick-Santorum-is-against-abortion-for-any-reason,-with-one-exception-

yep – when it affects his family.

Don’t get me wrong, I’ve no problem with people expressing their religious views, or having whatever religious views they wish.  If someone want’s to live life in a certain way, according to a particular code, or even their interpretation of that code, that’s fine.  Where I have the problem, is when these people try to make the rest of us live by their rules.  They do their own religion a disservice when they do so.

Oh, and if you haven’t done so yet already, as long as you’re not easily offended,  you must type “santorum” into Google.

This entry was published on January 30, 2012 at 7:00 am. It’s filed under Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Rick Santorum on gifts from god

  1. I googled… and certainly wasn’t expecting that! HA! HA!

    While I’m here I wanted to let you know that I nominated you the other day for the Versatile Blogger Award: http://lemonygregghead.wordpress.com/2012/01/29/in-celebration/ I will completely understand if you’re not into this kind of thing (I was a bit hesitant myself when the award was passed on to me), but by passing it on, my main purpose is to express the admiration I have for the amazing work you post here on your blog and to bring people to your site who may not have visited it before. So, please know that my gesture is sincere, but feel no obligation whatsoever to accept. All my best wishes to you! Melanie (aka Lemony).

    • Thanks Melanie, I’ve had a few nominations recently, and it really is very much appreciated. I know what you mean about the whole “award” thing, but it does mean quite a lot to me that a fellow blogger decides to select my blog out for a special mention. I’m going to do an “acceptance” post, which I keep putting off, but I must get round to it – this weekend is the plan.

Let me know what you're thinking.........

