PhotoLancaster

Strutting My Stuff

Black and White Feral Male Pigeon stepping smartly

Strutting my Stuff

To be sung, falsetto obviously….

well you can tell from the way I strut my stuff

I’m a ladies bird no time for tweets

I get out

I get it on

I get so far out

out on the streets

I’m a soul bird

I got the groove

I got the style

you know it’s true

people stop

people stare

at my smooth moves

but I don’t care

-+-+-+-+-

maybe you’re a lover and maybe I’m another

but I’m strutting my stuff

strutting my stuff

people think I’m crazy

but everybody’s faking it

strutting my stuff

strutting my stuff

-+-+-+-+-

well I can’t see how you resist me

I know you got that feel for me

there’s a queue, if you want to be

out at the front

then you need to preen

so we’re cool babe

the pavement’s heat don’t kill my feet

I’m a fool babe

it’s your love that gets to me

-+-+-+-+-

maybe you’re a lover and maybe I’m another

but I’m strutting my stuff

strutting my stuff

people think I’m crazy

but everybody’s faking it

strutting my stuff

strutting my stuff

ah ah ah ah strutting my stuff!

This entry was published on January 25, 2012 at 7:00 am. It’s filed under Black and White, Lancaster, Music, Photography, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

8 thoughts on “Strutting My Stuff

  1. chriscampbellphotography on said:

    Very nice. I haven’t seen many blogs posting photography with poetry. It really adds to the photo. Good work 🙂

    • Thanks Chris. This started out as a photography blog, but I thought it needed something extra, so I decided to write a poem inspired by the photo. These days I’m quite often writing the poem and then looking for a photo to match. In this case though, the photo (and hearing “Staying Alive”!) came first.

  2. *Love*
    Yup, I tried it in falsetto and it totally rocks out. It’s got soul. Pigeons do move with soul…

  3. 🙂 I “despise” pigeons but your poem makes them sound cool

  4. Marcel on said:

    I couldn’t find an “awesome” button so “like” must suffice – that’s an awesome image

Let me know what you're thinking.........

