PhotoLancaster

Poetry Challenge – Smiling Thoughts

Over at Clown Rhymes, there’s a Poetry Challenge happening!

The idea is that the Clown himself chooses a theme, posts it on a Tuesday, and us creative types have till Friday to come up with something, and post it as a comment on his blog.

I’m always open to any inspiration going, so I couldn’t resist this one.  The first challenge is “Smiling Thoughts”

http://clownponders.wordpress.com/2012/01/24/the-poetry-challenge-week-1-smiling-thoughts/

Now, I’ve been told in the past, that I’m quite good at doing “dark” but “Smiling Thoughts” doesn’t exactly drive you in that direction, or does it?

I got desperate thoughts I keep to myself

’cause my black dog belongs to me and no-one else

and if he sits on my lawn

what’s it to you

he’s my black dog

and he’s sticking with me

I got violent thoughts I keep in my head

’cause if they got out I know they’d kill me dead

and it’s not a side I like

what’s it to you

if my dark side

only comes out at night

I got smiling thoughts I smear on my face

’cause I let them out and they find their place

and if that mean that I smile outside

what’s it to you

I’m not here for you to see

I got smiling thoughts and dark thoughts too

just one look and you know it’s true

and if I keep my black dog

living free on a tight leash

he’s my black dog

and he smiles too

Check out the Clown Rhymes blog, and have a go yourself.

This entry was published on January 25, 2012 at 7:31 am. It’s filed under Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Let me know what you're thinking.........

