PhotoLancaster

Gay Radical Fascist Secular Islamic Atheists? Eh?

I try to avoid doing politics on this blog.  I guess American politics should be avoided by an Englishman, what do I know?  The trouble is, what you guys decide to do over there, tends to get followed by our sheep brained leaders over here, so it matters.

It might appear that I’m picking on one candidate, but I could have chosen anyone, there’s mad quotes out there from most of them. Please don’t think for a moment that I’m picking on Republicans,  I’m just as unimpressed by the difference between Obama’s statements on Guantanamo, and the reality.

I’ve just picked these quotes out, it demonstrates an ability to talk total trash which is quite breathtaking.

“I am convinced that if we do not decisively win the struggle over the nature of America, by the time [my grandchildren are] my age they will be in a secular atheist country, potentially one dominated by radical Islamists and with no understanding of what it once meant to be an American.” – Newt Gingrich

“There is a gay and secular fascism in this country that wants to impose its will on the rest of us, is prepared to use violence, to use harassment.” – Newt Gingrich

I read stuff about America

things politicians say

some words I hear really scare me

it’s not that people think these things

that comes as a surprise

what scares me is how many support them

fears of an atheist

secular

states of america

run by Islamic extremists

Islamist atheists

who promote gay marriage?

do we need to worry about that?

Gay Islamists of the World

Unite and Take Over

Hand it Over

you live in the nightmare of people

who may get control one day

who can’t string a sentence together

without self-contradiction

so how can they be fit

to put legislation into sentences

and to sentence us all

to live in their distorted world?

This entry was published on January 23, 2012 at 7:00 am. It’s filed under Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

8 thoughts on “Gay Radical Fascist Secular Islamic Atheists? Eh?

  1. Powerful words, powerful rhythm, powerful message. Good questions.

  2. Politics are so controversial, but I’m glad you shared. I used to keep up with politics fairly closely; I thought it made me informed, etc. etc. Even when I kept up with a lot I still didn’t feel like I knew anything. I disbelieve most of what I hear from all of them. Statements like these make me wonder what else a candidate may think, but are advised not to say. To me its all psychology, sales, manipulation. When I vote I just try to elect the lessor of two evils.

    • Very true. I think the “lessor of two evils” approach to voting is very common. In this country we seem to elect one lot, till we get fed up of them, then give the other lot a go, then back again. I’m not sure following it closely helps, I too have given that up as a bad job.

  3. As usual, I enjoy your poetry and take on things. Yes, American politics has gotten very .. . interesting of late. Makes for great late night comedy. And I hope this doesn’t sound patronizing, but I’m always impressed and amazed at how much foreigners know a lot about American politics, whereas “we” Americans are often a bit uninterested.

    • That’s interesting, I tend to look at American politics and assume it in some way reflects what Americans are thinking – while of course Americans are probably just as uninterested in their own politics as we are in ours. As you say, there’s some great comedy moments in there right now.

      • I actually meant to say that Americans are uninterested in politics in rest of the world…gross generalization I know and will get me slapped down by my own countrymen. But probably a large majority uninterested in our own politics too. But what do I know.

  4. Newt Gingrich is…let’s just say that he’s the poster child for political cynicism in the United States. Take a good long look at the history of personal/political life.

    In the end, though, politicians do what they do because they think it works. When I was an undergraduate studying political science back in the mid-1980s, I read a book (three times, mind you) called “Congress: The Electoral Connection.” It was written as a Ph.D dissertation by a grad student at Yale. The thesis was that everything every member of Congress ever did in an official capacity could be explained by the underlying desire to be re-elected.

    If the American voter–in a collective sense–politically punished politicians for cynical moves that insult their intelligence (or ought to at any rate), politicians would stop DOING those things. That, instead, politicians double down on this sort of thing is a bold statement about they’re disregard for the intelligence of the American electorate. Very sad, really.

    • It would be interesting to see a re-write of that thesis to apply to the UK.
      We have the Liberal Democrats who had a range of policies before the election, which largely seem to have been forgotten as part of a deal whereby they get to sit on the same side of Parliament as the Government, and their “leader” gets to call himself “Deputy Prime Minister”. This is while implementing a range of policies that the majority of their supporters would strongly disagree with. So instead of taking actions to get themselves re-elected, they have sold their future in exchange for five years being part of the Government. Their poll ratings have collapsed as a result. At least your politicians are acting in their own self interest, ours seem to be deluding themselves as well as us!

Let me know what you're thinking.........

