PhotoLancaster

A Shadow Under Sulphur Lights

Silhouetted Man under Street Lights

I followed him distant through copper slung streets

in between the steady ripple of terraced lives

and while I watched

I saw sights

never felt before

still dying amid the wrecks of lost days

he looked round once and flourished my death before me

scuttling like a cockroach hiding from empty thoughts

I looked at the sulphur lit pools

pretended my existence was silent

so we moved on once more through dismal car framed corridors

then under a street lamp he stopped with his shadow

I lifted my lens

I captured his image

and said farewell to my soul

Silhouetted Man under Street Lights

This entry was published on January 5, 2012 at 7:00 am. It’s filed under Photography, Poetry, Preston and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “A Shadow Under Sulphur Lights

  1. The stranger and their mysterious life. And the night only makes it more curious. Reminds me of Acconci’s ‘Following’ performance art.

    • Wow!I have to confess I’d never heard of Acconci, but having googled, that is pretty much exactly what I was doing – although it was incidental to my intentions. My aim was to capture the way his shadow blurred on the wet pavement, and in doing that I did end up following him round the streets. It’s something I’ll experiment with more in future I think. Thanks for educating me!

  2. perfect night series …

Let me know what you're thinking.........

