PhotoLancaster

My Fourth Album – David Bowie – The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars

The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars

The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars

Now we are really getting somewhere.  A good friend of mine came round with what is generally considered a classic album.  The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and The Spiders from Mars.   I’d seen Bowie on TV doing Starman, and I was instantly transfixed by this being that looked as if it came from another planet.   If I watch the clip now, it’s clearly just a fella with a funny haircut and a silly pyjama suit on, but at the time, he really seemed like something unworldly to me.

The Ziggy album was a revelation to me, we sat there listening to every track, working out the lyrics, deciding who was playing what, and attempting to understand what the hell he was singing about.   It was that opening track that did it for me though, Five Years, that steady drum beat and the sci-fi lyrics, “News guy wept and told us, Earth was really dying, cried so much his face was wet, then I knew he was not lying” I still love it now.

So finally, at the age of 13, I get into an album that is still one of my favourites nearly 40 years later.

Discovering Bowie led to so much musically, and culturally.  I discovered Lou Reed, Velvet Underground, Iggy Pop.  I listened to more Bowie, starting digging back – more of that tomorrow, but it eventually led me to Jack Kerouac.

Oh, and Bauhaus did a damn good version ….

<iframe width=”420″ height=”315″ src=”http://www.youtube.com/embed/6Gel4pm1EiA&#8221; frameborder=”0″ allowfullscreen>

This entry was published on November 24, 2011 at 7:00 am. It’s filed under Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “My Fourth Album – David Bowie – The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars

  1. It’s a classic album and it had a massive impact on lots of people. It still sounds great and probably always will. always good to be reminded of how people felt when they first heard it. The first Roxy Music album still sounds great too….

Let me know what you're thinking.........

