PhotoLancaster
Flick the Lights and Draw the Blinds

Flick the Lights and Draw the Blinds

Office Worker in Office Block
Flick the Lights and Draw the Blinds

…..

flick the lights and draw the blinds

here I am alone

empty chairs watch dead blank screens

ring of silent phone

…..

grab my cup and get a brew

kettle sat so cold

switch off thought and dim my brain

another day is sold

…..

from my desk I see so far

distant hill and sea

in this grey clad box of steel

none out there see me

…..

looking out at Preston dark

slowly coming to

waking open eyes still sleep

the working day is new

…..

This entry was published on November 16, 2011 at 7:00 am. It’s filed under Photography, Poetry, Preston and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Flick the Lights and Draw the Blinds

  1. empressalice on said:

    i really love it and its so great!!!! but i just think that maybe none out there but me would be better than none out there see me but it fantastic. thanks for sharing.

    • So pleased you like it. You’re absolutely right, “none out there but me” scans and reads much better, what I was trying to say is that he feels anonymous in this office block, and there’s a world going on out there that doesn’t see him, he sees them, but “none out there see me”. Having said that, if I’d thought of your line I would probably have used it instead!

Let me know what you're thinking.........

