PhotoLancaster

Thoughts on a Working Day

another empty day

I’ve got a job

nothing to do

I’m a resource

a collection of skills

to be used as required

applied to tasks

as required

in line with my skills matrix

to achieve my objectives

the one’s they’ve given me

not my objectives

they’re obsolete anyway

skills not required

so I just sit and get paid

achieving nothing

nothing required

nothing asked of me

then suddenly a meeting

they need me

…….

why? I ask

                                      no answer

what for? I ask

                                    no answer

what purpose? I ask

                                    no answer

is this my job? I ask

                                     no answer

is this my objective? I ask

                                      no answer

…….

I sometimes think the difference

between managers and the rest of us

is that they have no problem

doing nothing

This entry was published on November 11, 2011 at 7:00 am. It’s filed under Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Let me know what you're thinking.........

