PhotoLancaster
Merc by the Bookies

Parked my Merc Outside the Bookies

Street Photo Mercedes Van by the Bookies

Merc by the Bookies

right then love

I’m off down the bookies

eh?

yeah I’ll take the merc

whadya think I was gonna walk?

ha!

parking? eh? parking?

you ‘avin’ a laugh?

eh?

it’s a merc darlin’

a frigging merc

yeah?

they gonna do me?

stick one on that baby?

nah!

they know class them wardens

bastards, but they ain’t stupid

eh?

bingo? you wanna lift?

thought gladys was comin’

nah?

meeting her there now?

its that merc, that’s what it is

eh?

babe magnet, she is,

babe magnet

Bingo Girls

Bingo Girls

This entry was published on November 8, 2011 at 7:00 am. It’s filed under Architecture, Black and White, Photography, Poetry, Preston and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “Parked my Merc Outside the Bookies

  1. you have very nice composition! 🙂

  2. I agree with Mark about your composition in these pictures. Well done!

  3. Thanks for your kind comments guys – much appreciated.
    It’s funny, but I think getting good composition in street photography is largely a matter of luck, I suppose the skill comes in spotting when you’ve been lucky!

    • I agree and disagree with you, Malcolm. Yes, street photography is much about what people call “luck” – to be in the right place in the right moment and with a camera ready to shoot. And of course it is very important to know how to choose the right pic among your own work. However, “luck” comes often only to an eye that sees. Most of the time you have only an instant to build your composition – and this is the beauty and the challange of documentary photography. “Photography is not like painting,” Cartier-Bresson told the Washington Post in 1957. “There is a creative fraction of a second when you are taking a picture. Your eye must see a composition or an expression that life itself offers you, and you must know with intuition when to click the camera. That is the moment the photographer is creative,” he said. “Oop! The Moment! Once you miss it, it is gone forever.” (Bernstein, Adam (August 5, 2004). “The Acknowledged Master of the Moment”. The Washington Post. Retrieved May 4, 2010.) http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/articles/A39981-2004Aug4.html

      • Excellent comment Nadia, good point, well put.

        There’s a couple of quotes I like on this subject –
        Woody Allen “80% of success is just showing up”
        and from Elliott Erwitt “To me, photography is an art of observation. It’s about finding something interesting in an ordinary place… I’ve found it has little to do with the things you see and everything to do with the way you see them.”

        For me it’s all about that phrase “finding something interesting in an ordinary place”, and to find that you need skill, and to notice it you need skill – but when I get the chance to use those skills, I feel I’ve been lucky!

Let me know what you're thinking.........

